Nameroute Logo
Domain Name Registration
Home   Register Domains   Modify Domains   Prices   Support    FAQ   Testimonials    Contact Us
Domain registry of America

This page contains links to some of our web pages and other sites of interest.

Domain Registry of America renewal letters

A large number of customers are reporting receiving letters from either The Domain Registry of America, Domain Registry of Europe or EU Registry Services.

These letters appear to be domain renewal notices but on closer inspection are actually offers to transfer your domain name to another registrar. If you take up the offer you will lose any free services that we currently provide with your domain name. You will also pay higher renewal fees than we currently charge.

If your domain name is registered through us (Nameroute or Hostroute) we will send you renewal notices by email which will be clearly marked as having come from us. These emails contain a link to the renewal page.

Here are some details on the companies involved:

 

Domain Registry of America

This company has already been barred from carrying out this practice in the USA by the Federal Trade Commission. Click Here to read the FTC press release. They also operate in the UK and Europe under the name Domain Registry of Europe.

Click Here to see a sample letter (Coming Soon)

 

EU Registry Services

This company operates out of St Neots, Cambridgeshire, UK and seems to only send letters to registrants in the UK. You can read more about this company's other activities by clicking here.

Click Here to see a sample letter

This company now operates as Domain Registry Services.

 

Domain Registry Services

The letters come from: Domain Registry Services, Compass House, Vision Park, Cambridge. CB4 9AD and state that the domain name will stop working if you do not pay them. This is not true. Only your current registrar can process a renewal so if you do not renew through us your domain name will stop working.

Click Here to see a sample Domain Registry Services letter

If you receive a letter from them you shouldreport it to Cambridgeshire Trading Standards as they are investigating it - Click Here for contact details.

Please see the article above (EU Registry Services) for further information.

 

The last word

Nameroute and Hostroute is an honest business and does not resort to this type of tactic to gain new business. We are losing large numbers of customers to these types of company and we would ask all customers to think carefully before responding to these offers.

 

Terms and Conditions - Privacy Policy - Company Information

© Hostroute.com Ltd